top of page

Manifeste

Ce que nous apprenons et l'impact que cela a sur notre travail

LE CONTEXTE

 

Le « développement international » a une histoire mouvementée. Une histoire faite d'espoir et de désespoir. De succès et d'échecs. Triomphe et tragédie. Il a permis de réaliser d'énormes progrès, avec l'éradication de maladies et la réduction de la pauvreté. Mais elle a aussi causé du tort, souvent en raison de son habitude de nommer les « problèmes » d'une communauté, puis de demander à des personnes extérieures d'essayer de les résoudre - un effort qui s'arrête souvent lorsque les budgets sont à sec ou que les priorités changent.  Nos membres racontent comment cela a permis de définir les habitants comme des incapables, de diminuer leurs réalisations antérieures et de décourager leurs initiatives futures. Et lorsque cela se produit, la communauté peut se retrouver dans une situation pire que celle qu'elle connaissait auparavant.

 

C'est pourquoi des groupes comme le nôtre commencent à renverser cette approche. Nous célébrons les forces locales plutôt que de pointer du doigt les faiblesses. Nous reconnaissons que nous avons tous quelque chose à offrir et que le développement ne doit plus être une question de « donateurs et bénéficiaires », de « nantis et démunis » ou de « nous et eux ». Au sein du réseau Arukah, il n'y a que « nous ». 

Untitled 1.png

Nous célébrons les forces locales plutôt que de pointer du doigt les faiblesses.

Untitled 1.png

Le rôle de la personne extérieure n'est pas d'injecter de l'argent dans un problème ou de donner des ordres

NOTRE RÔLE

 

Lorsque le développement commence par le rassemblement des membres d'une communauté, l'inventaire de leurs propres connaissances et compétences et leur utilisation pour poursuivre des objectifs communs, il permet de renforcer les relations, de forger de meilleurs dirigeants, d'éveiller l'esprit d'entreprise et, en fin de compte, d'améliorer la santé, le bien-être et l'avenir de toute une communauté.

 

 

 

Dans cette méthode de travail, le rôle des personnes extérieures à la communauté n'est pas d'injecter de l'argent dans un problème, de donner des ordres ou de décider des objectifs et des priorités. Nous pensons qu'il s'agit plutôt de mettre les gens en contact, de créer un espace de réflexion critique et de dialogue parfois difficile, d'amplifier les solutions et les voix, et de proposer de combler les lacunes en matière de formation et de compétences lorsque l'on y est invité.

COMMENT NOUS TRAVAILLONS

 

Notre réseau aide à lancer et à entretenir des groupes locaux de personnes qui travaillent en collaboration au service de leurs communautés. Nous appelons ces groupes des « clusters ». Dans chaque groupe, les membres s'efforcent de nouer des relations, de se soutenir mutuellement, de partager des formations et de former des partenariats. L'objectif est d'améliorer la santé, le bien-être et le bonheur de nos communautés et, en fin de compte, d'inspirer des systèmes plus larges et des changements sociaux. Ou, comme nous l'appelons, « Arukah ».

 

En tant que réseau, nous nous réunissons localement, internationalement et en ligne, pour apprendre et nous soutenir mutuellement au service de nos communautés. Nous rassemblons et partageons l'expertise et la sagesse de notre réseau, afin que les communautés puissent relever des défis complexes. Et nous amplifions les voix des communautés, afin que leur sagesse soit comprise et prise en compte par les décideurs politiques.

Untitled 1.png

Le réseau Arukah est un véritable travail de santé communautaire.

NOUS SOIGNONS...

dirigeants

l'individu

 

Nous soutenons les leaders communautaires et les modèles de rôle pour les aider à faire avancer leurs idées, à construire leurs réseaux, à les accompagner et à les encadrer. En retour, ils nourrissent leur groupe, dirigent leur communauté et œuvrent pour le changement.

communautés

le local

 

Un cluster au cœur d'une communauté peut constituer un lieu de soutien, de conseil, d'orientation et d'inspiration. Les formations internes et les événements externes d'un cluster tentent de montrer une nouvelle façon de travailler et de collaborer. 

networks

le mondial

 

Nous nous connectons en ligne et en personne pour partager la sagesse, le soutien et la formation. Nous voulons montrer que la mise en réseau et la mondialisation sont des forces positives lorsqu'elles sont ancrées dans la relation et l'empathie. Nous essayons de modéliser la collaboration qui est la clé des objectifs de développement durable des Nations unies.

en savoir plus

VOIR NOTRE

IMPACT

Rose, Mara Cluster

Rejoignez notre réseau

jdhf.jpg

DONNER SON

AVIS

bottom of page

Manifesto

What we're learning and how it's impacting our work

The role of the outsider is not to throw cash at a problem or to issue orders

THE BACKGROUND

‘International development’ has a messy history. One of hope and despair. Success and failure. Triumph and tragedy. It’s made huge advancements, with diseases eradicated and poverty reduced. But it’s caused harm too, often due to its habit of naming a community's 'problems', and then getting outsiders to try and solve them - an effort that often ends when budgets run dry or priorities change.  Our members tell stories of how this has defined local people as incapable, diminished their prior achievements, and discouraged their future initiative. And when it does this, it can leave a community worse off than it was before.

 

That’s why groups like us are starting to flip this approach on its head. We're celebrating local strengths rather than pinpointing weaknesses. And we're recognising that we all have something to offer, and so development need no longer be about 'donors & beneficiaries', 'haves & have-nots', or 'us & them'. In Arukah Network, there's only 'us'. 

We're celebrating local strengths rather than pinpointing weaknesses.

OUR ROLE

When development starts with community members coming together, taking stock of their own knowledge and skills, and using these to pursue shared goals, then it can build stronger relationships, forge better leaders, kindle an entrepreneurial spirit, and ultimately improve the health, wellbeing and future of a whole community.

 

In this way of working, the role of those from outside of a community is not to throw cash at a problem, or issue orders, or decide goals and priorities. Instead, we think it's more about connecting people, creating space for critical thinking and sometimes-difficult dialogue, amplifying solutions and voices, and offering to help fill gaps in training and skill when invited to do so.

HOW WE WORK

Our network helps to launch and nurture local groups of people who work collaboratively to serve their communities. We call these groups ‘Clusters’. In each Cluster, members work to build relationships, support one another, share in training and form partnerships. The aim is to increase the health, wellbeing and happiness of our communities, and ultimately, to inspire wider systems and social change. Or as we call it, 'Arukah'.

 

As a network, we meet together locally, internationally and online, to learn and support one another as we serve our communities. We gather and share our network's expertise and wisdom, so that communities can solve complex challenges. And we amplify community voices, so their wisdom is understood and acted upon by policy makers.

WE NURTURE...

the individual

We support community leaders and role models to help further their ideas, build their networks,  coach and mentor them. In return, they nurture their Cluster, lead their communities & work for change.

the local

A Cluster at the heart of a community can provide a place of support, advice, referrals and inspiration. A Cluster's internal training and external events try to show a new way to work and collaborate. 

the global

 

We connect online and in person to share wisdom, support and training. We aim to show that networking and globalisation are forces for good when rooted in relationship and empathy. We try to model the collaboration that is key to the UN SDGs.

OUR THEORY OF CHANGE

CONNECT

people doing good

 

The more connected a community, the more skills, wisdom and resources flow. Partnerships form, gaps are filled and access to health & wellbeing opportunities improve.

CREATE

space to collaborate

 

A Cluster aims to create an environment for people to connect and form self-organising teams, so they become less reliant on outside leadership and help.

LISTEN

to diverse voices

 

Our work benefits from our Christian roots, humanitarian values, evidenced approaches, community wisdom and other faith traditions.

AMPLIFY

local stories

 

When community voices, stories and solutions are shared, it can create role models, inspire others, change hearts and even shape policy. 

MAP 

local strengths 

 

When ‘resource’ is seen less as money and more as people's innate capacity, a community can stop waiting for external funding and start using its own resources.

ENCOURAGE

partnerships

 

When those concerned with a community's health connect and collaborate, less competition and duplication of efforts occurs, and their combined impact grows.

REIMAGINE

leadership

 

When people understand that everyone has the capacity to lead 'from who they are', they become more empowered to create change. 

COMMUNICATE

plainly and clearly

 

When each part of a network communicates well, solutions, expertise and strengths can be shared and implemented quickly and easily.

LEARN MORE

Rose, Mara Cluster

Arukah Network © 2014. All Rights Reserved.

Registered Charity no. 1162564

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • SoundCloud - White Circle